Faculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff Directory

Audrey Shillington

Audrey M. Shillington, PhD, MSW, MPE

Director and Professor
Education 137
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-2378
audrey.shillington@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Adolescent and young adult risk behavior prevention and reduction, psychiatric epidemiology, psychometrics, alcohol and other drug use prevention and intervention.
Heather Arnold-Renicker

Heather Arnold-Renicker, M.S.W.

Instructor
Education 6
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
heather.Arnold-renicker@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Organizational culture and leadership, anti-oppressive practice, and civic engagement.
Kristy Beachy-Quick

Kristy Beachy-Quick, MPP

Research Associate
Behavioral Sciences Building A104
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-5511
kristy.beachy-quick@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Early childhood and adolescent social policy, program evaluation, capacity building for non-profits, child welfare.
Pam Bishop

Pamela S. Bishop, PhD, MSW

Instructor
Education 10
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-7943
pamela.bishop@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Developmental disabilities; children, youth, and families; crisis work; and domestic violence.
The Honorable Susan Blanco, J.D.

The Honorable Susan Blanco, J.D.

Instructor
Education 6
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
Susan.Blanco@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Juvenile Delinquency, Guardian Ad Litem, Ethics, Social Security, Disability, Family Law
Roe Bubar

Roe W. Bubar, J.D.

Associate Professor
Joint appointment with the Ethnic Studies Department

363 SE Aylesworth Hall
1790 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1790
(970) 491-2950
roe.bubar@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Social policy, child sexual abuse in Indian country and Alaska Native communities, children's advocacy centers: multidisciplinary and collaborative approaches in child maltreatment and cultural competency.
Mary Carraher

Mary Carraher, MSW

BSW Field Education Coordinator
Education 115
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-3297
mary.carraher@colostate.edu

Areas of interest: Women’s issues, poverty alleviation, career decision making, organizational development, legislative and social advocacy.
Banghwa Casado

Banghwa Casado, PhD, MSW

Associate Professor and Ph.D. Program Director
Education 134A
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-4697
banghwa.casado@colostate.edu

Areas of interest: Community-based health and social services, issues affecting older adults and their caregivers, issues affecting language minorities, culturally responsive scientific inquiry.
Nishesh Chalise

Nishesh Chalise, MSW

HRSA Stipend Scholars Program Evaluator
chalise@augsburg.edu

Areas of interest: Community food security, Environmental Justice, implementation and diffusion of EBPs in communities and organizations, community-based participatory research (using systems modeling), application of system dynamics modeling in social work and public health
Eunhee Choi

Eunhee Choi, PhD, MSW

Assistant Professor
Education 116
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-7854
eunhee.choi@colostate.edu

Areas of interest: Aging, health, policy, productive aging, older workers, research methodology, and program evaluation.
Michael Cortes

Michael Cortes, Ph.D.

Instructor
Education 6
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
michael.cortes@colostate.edu

Areas of interest: Elderly Latinos in the U.S.: changing characteristics and implications for public policy. Building capacity for policy analysis and advocacy in public charities. Improving policy analysis curricula in schools of social work.
Liz Davis

Liz Davis, MSW

Associate Director of Field Education
Education 25
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-3433
liz.davis@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: School social work, mental health, disabilities, organizations, communities, policy.
Tim Frank

Timothy Frank

Graduate Program Coordinator for MSW and PhD Programs
Education 134
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-2536
timothy.frank@colostate.edu
Dana Gaines

Dana Gaines, MSW, LCSW

Instructor and BSW Advisor
Education 123
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-7183
dana.gaines@colostate.edu

Areas of interest: Trauma informed care, county child welfare intervention outcomes, and social justice

Schedule an advising appointment
John Gandy

John T. Gandy, PhD, MSW

Instructor
Education 5
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
john.gandy@colostate.edu
Badiah Haffejee

Badiah Haffejee, PhD, MSW

Instructor
Education 5
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
Badiah.Haffejee@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Refugees, trauma-informed care, policy, poverty, resiliency, and community-engaged research
Joni Handran

Joni Handran, PhD, LCSW, CACIII

Instructor
Education 6
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
joni.handran@colostate.edu
joni.handran@yahoo.com

Areas of Interest: Trauma-informed care, substance abuse/dependence, mental health, and co-occurring disorders.
Helen Holmquist-Johnson

Helen Holmquist-Johnson, PhD, MSW

Research Associate and Social Work Research Center Assistant Director
Behavioral Sciences Building A105
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-0888
helen.holmquist-johnson@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Program evaluation and research methods, child welfare practice and policy reform, child well-being and trauma assessment, kinship and foster care, human-animal bond
Tricia Howley

Tricia Howley

Communications Coordinator
Education 125
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-2181
tricia.howley@colostate.edu
Shannon Hughes

Shannon Hughes, PhD, MSW

Assistant Professor
Education 119
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-5654
shannon.hughes@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Critical perspectives in mental health and psychopharmacology; psychosocial and peer-run alternatives for persons in acute mental/emotional distress; subjective treatment experiences; training helping professionals to improve prescribing practices; advancing the role of social work in psychopharmacology
John Kefalas

John Kefalas, Colorado State Senator, District 14

Instructor
Education 6
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
john.kefalas@colostate.edu
Karmen Kelly

Karmen Kelly

Financial Officer
Education 109
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-7167
karmen.kelly@colostate.edu
Chris Lee

Chris Lee, PhD, MSW


A108 Behavioral Sciences Building
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-1522
chris.lee@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Child welfare, vulnerable youth transitions to adulthood, evidence-informed policy and practice, community-engaged research, mixed methodology
Cathy Lopez Wessell

Cathy Lopez Wessell, MSW

Instructor
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
Cathy.Lopez_Wessell@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Human-Animal Relationship, Adult psychotherapy, Aging, Play Therapy, HIV/AIDS
Evan Lowe, MSW

Evan Lowe, MSW

Academic Success Coordinator
Education 132
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-1198
Evan.Lowe@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Higher education, African-American community development, Juvenile justice, Youth and family development, Community Poverty
Doreen Martinez

Doreen Martinez

Instructor
210B Eddy Hall
Doreen.Martinez@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Indigenous epistemologies, Social Justice research design and methodologies, race and gender voice and representations, ethnographic and narrative studies
Angela Mead

Angela Mead, M.S.W.

Instructor
Education 121
(970) 691-4019
angela.mead@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Child abuse and neglect; child welfare/juvenile justice practice skills and course development; substance abuse and mental health; trauma informed care; community collaboration and service integration.
Brenda Miles

Brenda K. Miles, MSW

BSW Program Director
Education 121
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-2314
brenda.miles@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Families and children, environmental issues and social welfare, management of non-profit organizations, practice skills.
Kristin Leigh Mooney, LCSW

Kristin Leigh Mooney, LCSW

Instructor
Education 6
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
kmooney@mail.colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Family therapy, Substance Use, Mental Health, Delinquency, Children & Youth
Theresa L. Morris, MSW, LSW

Theresa L. Morris, MSW, LSW

Field Education Program Coordinator
Education 22
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-8904
theresa.morris@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Community-based program design, nontraditional students, policy, veterans, child welfare.
Keli Murray

Keli Murray

Field Education Program Administrator
Education 12
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-6203
keli.murray@colostate.edu
Annetta Niesent

Annetta Niesent, MS

Instructor
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
annetta.niesent@judicial.state.co.us

Areas of Interest: Criminal justice, corrections, mental health, and restorative justice.
Becky Orsi

Rebecca Orsi, PhD, MS

Research Scientist
Behavioral Sciences Building A106
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-7237
becky.orsi@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Research methods; child welfare outcomes; research using administrative data
Holly Panetta, JD

Holly Panetta, JD, MS

Instructor
Education 5
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
Holly.Panetta@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Conflict Resolution, Family Law, Elder Issues, Social Welfare, Restorative Justice, Mediation
Jennifer Portz

Jennifer Portz, PhD, MSW

Assistant Professor
Education 131
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-4045
jennifer.portz@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Public health, gerontology, and the use of technology interventions with older adults.
Louise Quijano

Louise Quijano, PhD, LCSW

MSW Program Director and Associate Professor
Education 135
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-7448
louise.quijano@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Mental health, aging, Latinos, and animal assisted therapies.
Amy Riep

Amy Riep, MSW, LMSW

Acting MSW Program Director
Director, CLOE
Program Director: Colorado Child Welfare Stipend Program

Education 23
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-0996
amy.riep@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Child welfare, program administration, non-profit development, and international social work.
Sarah Rudisill, M.S.

Sarah Rudisill, M.S.

Distance Liaison for the Center for Lifelong Learning and Outreach Education (CLOE)
Education
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-7817
Sarah.Rudisill@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Child welfare, high risk youth, intervention and prevention programs for high risk youth, adolescent resiliency, human trafficking and raising public awareness of trafficking prevalence in local communities.
Malcolm Scott

Malcolm Scott, PhD, MSW

Assistant Professor
Education 138
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-5818
malcolm.scott@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Educational Access and Opportunity; Minority Undergraduate/Graduate Educational Opportunity; Cultural Diversity/Ethnicity in Student Achievement and Success; Service-Learning and Culturally Responsive Learning Communities; Community Development; Youth and Young Adult Development Programs – Urban/Suburban
Jonathan Singer

Colorado House Rep. Jonathan Singer, MSW

Instructor
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
repsinger@gmail.com

Areas of Interest: Social welfare policy, child protection, marijuana policy, welfare to work outcomes.
Sue Tungate

Susan Tungate, PhD, MSW

Director of Field Education
Education 136
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-4695
susan.tungate@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Field education, program evaluation research and application, inter-organizational and inter-disciplinary collaboration, services coordination and integration.
Neomi Vin-Raviv

Neomi Vin-Raviv, PhD, MPH

Instructor
Education 6
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
neomi.vin-raviv@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Cancer epidemiology, Early life exposures, Mental health epidemiology, and Psychological outcomes in cancer
Danielle Willis

Danielle Willis, MSW, LCSW

Instructor
Education 5
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
danielle.willis@colostate.edu
Marc Winokur

Marc Winokur, PhD

Director of the Social Work Research Center (SWRC)
Behavioral Sciences Building A107
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-0885
marc.winokur@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Child welfare, systematic reviews, applied research, evidence-based practice.
Paula Yuma

Paula Yuma, PhD, MPH

Assistant Professor
Education 118
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-1906
paula.yuma@colostate.edu

Areas of Interest: Health disparities, injury prevention, neighborhood characteristics and well-being, maternal & child health.
Marie Villescas Zamzow

Marie Villescas Zamzow, MSW, LCSW

Instructor and BSW Advisor
Education 133
1586 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1586
(970) 491-3120
marie.villescas@colostate.edu

Schedule an advising appointment

Areas of Interest: Mental health, child welfare, diversity, work with families and children, and creating social action